The Flash (CW) – Season 3 Review

iris and barry.jpg

So, this season was, in one word: underwhelming.

I think the Flash is the third best comic book adaptation on television (excluding all of Marvel Netflix). It’s not as compelling, entertaining or as well performed as The Walking Dead (AMC). It’s not as charming, unique, fun and as quirky as iZombie (CW). However, where Supergirl season 2 was a major downgrade, the Flash remains an interesting piece of television.

I adore Joe West and his relationship with Barry. I think the addition of Wally could have gone the way of other annoying sidekicks. You know, the Scrappy Doo effect where you wonder why they exist. Instead, Wally was a pleasant addition. I love his chemistry both with Barry and with Iris and Joe. With the Iris/Barry Will-They/Won’t-They coming to a close in the season 2 finale, this seasons should have been a slam dunk.

It wasn’t.

So, let’s start with:

The Good:

  • Barry & Iris: their chemistry is perfect. Candice and Grant are wonderful together and I wanted more of their cute little domestic moments. They sincerely love and support each other and this season made it clear that Iris loves every version of Barry. It also continued to highlight just how long these two have known each other with more pictures of them as children and more stories that span their lives from children into adulthood.
  • Barry & Wally: they were great together. Barry is clearly overprotective of Wally, even before he got his powers, and that was wonderful to see.
  • Wally: Keiynan Lonsdale is fantastic as Wally. He’s adorable, enthusiastic, he has great comedic timing and this season gave him more to work with. He played the emotional scenes really well and he made understandable mistakes in this season.
  • H.R. Wells: I adored him! Granted, this incarnation was just another excuse to keep Tom Cavanaugh around for another season. Seriously, how many times are they going to kill him off of exile him to another universe just to bring him back later? It’s like Patton Oswalt’s character on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. I can’t complain because I’ve been a huge Tom Cavanaugh fan since Scrubs. Anyway, H.R. is adorable! He’s so enthusiastic about all things Earth 1 and he’s such an encouraging figure. All he wants to do is help the team and keep everyone safe and he does his best until the end of the season.
  • Cisco & H.R.: it’s mentioned several times in the show itself but Cisco has great relationships with all version of Wells. With H.R., Cisco was the smart one and H.R. was the one that needed guidance. It took a while for H.R. to grow on Cisco (Franchesco), but when he did, Cisco was very protective. Even willing to put his life on the line for H.R. once or twice. I loved their relationship.
  • Gorilla City: While the apes all looked like video game characters, this was actually a Smallville/Supergirl level of good. This episode made Barry choose between mercy and murder and it was a great defining episode of the Flash. Not a perfect episode, mind you, but it did an excellent job telling us what kind of hero Barry is.
  • 3×01: this was arguably one of, if not the, best episode of the series. The Flashpoint episode was put together so well that I actually teared up while watching it. This is what Barry’s life would be like if his mother had lived that night and it’s wonderful.. for Barry. He’s missing Iris but he comes up with a plan for that. Cisco became a millionaire. Barry’s parents are alive and well in their old house. Wally is Kid Flash and loving it. But Joe is a drunk and he’s very close to getting fired. This is a really interesting world but Barry has to change everything back because he’s slowly losing his memories of his old life and his speed is going away. The scene where he makes the decision to turn everything back is heart breaking. I loved this episode.

The Bad:

  • Killer Frost: I’ll preface this by saying: I was a huge Danielle Panabaker fan. I loved Stuck in the Suburbs and I even thought she was great in that Lifetime movie where she was a teenage mother. I say this because I think she’s kind of terrible on this show. I don’t know if it’s the writing or what but Caitlin Snow is just such a bland character and this season should have been her saving grace. She was finally getting her Killer Frost arc and this should have been exciting. Instead, I treated her scenes, especially the ones with Draco Malfoy, like intermissions to read.
  • Killer Frost’s costuming: I’m a broke college graduate so I know dressing on a budget. Killer Frost’s costume looked like the CW couldn’t afford to make one so they put together some wigs and facepaint from Party City’s clearance section. I rag on CW’s Error a lot but some of their costumes look much better than this one. This is on par with Supergirl’s Livewire levels of bad.
  • Wally Screws Everything Up: Look, I adore Wally so maybe I was just more sensitive to this but it was ridiculous how many things go wrong this season because Wally was too impulsive or got it wrong. Every time he did something that went against Barry’s wishes, like sneak out to fight bad guys with H.R.’s encouragement, everything went terribly wrong. It seemed really unrealistic, to be honest.
  • Barry/Iris on hold AGAIN: This seasons’ finale ended with Barry apart from Iris yet again. It’s like the writer’s know that newspaper article with Iris Allen-West on it means the audience will just put up with several wedges between these two along the way. It shouldn’t worry me because the CW shows no signs of ending this show prematurely but I just wish I didn’t have to wait for them to be together again the way I did with Clark/Lana before the show said “Fuck it, they’re splitting up”.
5 thoughts on “The Flash (CW) – Season 3 Review”

  1. I love that you mentioned Stuck In The Suburbs haha. That’s the first time I came across Danielle Panabaker! I agree with you on Killer Frost, but I do think (or hope) it is the writing. They aren’t really giving the poor girl much to work with, from the wig to the face paint, it’s all kind of meh. And I don’t know what’s going on with the whole Barry/Iris thing, but they need to make up their mind haha. Great review!

    Would you be interested in sharing your work on Movie Pilot? I’d like to invite you to join the platform, and I’d love to hear from you so I can to expand on that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail, my contact details are on my “About” page. Hopefully talk soon!

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading! Perhaps Danielle is the victim of bad writing. It’s a shame because Killer Frost is an interesting character and the CW isn’t doing her justice.

      And thanks for the invitation! I’ll definitely look into it! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Comic Book Maiden!

    I’m a huge Flash (and superhero) fan and I thought to say your review pinpoints exactly how I felt about Season 3. Great job! However, I’d love to know your thoughts on Julian Albert? I think he brought an interesting dynamic into Team Flash throughout the Season and I’d love to hear a fellow ‘superhero blogger’s’ take on it?

    -AppleBelle

    Like

    1. Hi!
      I thought Julian was a really interesting addition to the show. I’ll admit, around mid season, I started to wonder why he was there? After he stopped being an antagonist for Barry, they kind of wasted him, in my opinion. For such a great actor, I wished they’d found something more involved for him to do. I’m not sure if Tom is returning but I hope they give him more to do next season.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

